About The School Of Basic Medical Science

It is with great pleasure that I welcome you to your School –SCHOOL OF BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES, which was created in December 2003 as one of the component Schools in the College of Medical Sciences, and finally took off in January 2004. The School currently has seven (7) departments and runs undergraduate programs for Bachelor’s degrees in Anatomy,Medical Biochemistry, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Nursing Science, Physiology, Physiotherapy and Radiography. It also runs postgraduate programs i.e. M.Sc, M.Phil and Ph.D in some of these departments. In addition, the School services the other Schools within the College – Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, as well as some other Faculties in the University – Faculties of Life Sciences and Pharmacy.

It is our hope that by your hard work, strict adherence to the University rules and regulations and observance of all that is expected of you, we can partner with you to ensure that you are found worthy in character and in learning at the end of your training in order to qualify for the award of degrees from the University of Benin.


I wish you all the best.

Professor (Mrs). I. Ebomoyi