I am delighted to welcome you to your school – The School of Basic Medical Sciences as you begin the journey of a wonderful period in life to greatness.

The School was created in December, 2003 as one of the component schools in the College of Medical Sciences, and finally took off in January, 2004. The School comprises of seven (7) Departments and runs undergraduate programmes for Bachelor’s degrees in Anatomy, Medical Biochemistry, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Nursing Science, Physiology, Physiotherapy and Radiography and Radiation Science. Some Departments offer M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes in different areas of specialization. The School also provides services for other Schools within the College; Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, as well as some Faculties in the University; Faculties of Life Sciences and Pharmacy.

This handbook provides information about the Academic Curricula programmes, human capacity and University regulations in operation in the School. It has been carefully put together to meet your needs and answer your questions. I advise you to use it as a guide and companion. The academic and administrative staffs are here to support, inspire and motivate you to be the best and achieve your dreams. Be assured of their unflinching and unwavering assistance.

It is our hope that by your hard work, strict adherence to the University rules and regulations, we can partner with you to ensure that you are found worthy in character and learning at the end of your training in the School. These will qualify you for the award of degrees from the University of Benin.

Congratulations. I wish you all the best.